In the state of Arizona, a class M license is required to operate a motorcycle or motor-driven cycle. Individuals must be 16 years or older prior to applying for a motorcycle license. Applicants under the age of 18 must have held a permit for at least six months before the date of application. To have a license free of restrictions, drivers must take the motorcycle test with a vehicle of 100cc or higher; otherwise, they will receive a J restriction on their license, thereby limiting them to vehicles of 100cc or lower.
Motorcycle License Requirements
- Written motorcycle test
- Motorcycle skills test
- Medical screenings
- Vision screenings
- Parental permission (if under 18)
Usually, potential motorcycle drivers complete motorcycle education. However, there is an alternative to taking school-based instruction. A parent can put in writing that their received at least 30 hours of motorcycle riding outside of a school. This counts as instruction under a permit.
Motorcycle insurance Arizona laws require drivers to have, at a minimum, liability insurance. The minimum amount of coverage motorcycle drivers must have is $15,000 of coverage for the bodily injury of another person within the accident. Motorcyclists must also be covered to a minimum of $30,000 for total bodily injury coverage (two or more people). For property damages, drivers must be insured to a minimum of $10,000. Motorcycle insurance coverage is absolutely mandatory, and must be carried in the vehicle at all times. Driving a motorcycle without insurance can lead to fees, the revoking of your license, and even jail time. There are two ways to get this coverage in the state of Arizona:
- Self Insurance – A bond or certificate for a large sum of money set aside with the Department of Transportation can serve as self insurance, according to motorcycle insurance laws.
- Buy insurance – When you buy insurance, you determine the best motorcycle insurance policy offered through motorcycle insurance companies with the help of agents and brokers.
Every state has its own set of criteria for determining motorcycle insurance costs. Arizona motorcycle insurance premiums are determined by the kind of motorcycle driven, the amount driven, age, gender, marital status, accident history, and depending on some companies, your credit history. Nicer, more expensive motorcycles lead to higher premiums, as do young drivers and unmarried individuals. A history filled with accidents and traffic tickets will also affect your motorcycle insurance premium. In some extreme cases, multiple accidents can even interfere with your ability to renew your license.
Whether you’re driving a motorcycle or a car, it is important to follow all state laws regarding transportation. If you fail to follow these laws, it can cost you time, money, and even your driving privileges. Below are the motorcycle-specific laws for Arizona.
- Safety helmets must be worn by minors under the age of 18.
- Eye protection is required by law unless a windscreen is equipped on the motorcycle.
- There are many laws regarding the use of headlights.
- A passenger seat and footrest is required with a passenger.
- Periodic safety inspections are required by law.
- Motorcyclists may drive abreast in the same lane, however, these guidelines must be followed.
- The rules of lane splitting are explained in the Arizona code.