To operate a motorcycle in the state of Arkansas, an individual must have a class M license. There are no restrictions on a class M license, which means it covers motorbikes, motor-driven cycles, and other classification of motorcycles. Individuals must be 16 years old to apply for this license. Individuals aged 14 and 15 years can apply for a restricted MD class license, which permits them to drive motorcycles with 250 cc or less displacement, but prohibits them from carrying passengers.
Motorcycle License Requirements
- Parental permission (if under 18 years old)
- Instructional permit
- Knowledge test
- Vision test
- Driving test
The state of Arkansas requires that motorcyclists have, at a minimum, liability motorcycle insurance coverage. The motorcycle insurance policy must cover at least $25,000 in the event of injury or death of a single person and $50,000 in the event of injury or death of more than one person. Motorcycle insurance laws in Arkansas also require motorcyclists to have at least $25,000 coverage for property damage, in the event of a collision. Motorcyclists must prove that they are meeting the motorcycle insurance requirements by carrying proof of insurance in their vehicle at all times. Failure to do so can result in fines. Failure to maintain proper insurance coverage can result in jail time.
Motorcycle insurance companies look at a variety of factors to determine the motorcycle insurance rates appropriate for each individual. Age, marital status, and gender play a part in determining insurance costs. Younger and unmarried couples have statistically been proven to cause more accidents. Males are considered to be riskier driver than females, and therefore pay higher rates. The make, model, and year of the motorcycle is considered when determining rates as well. The more mileage an individual puts on his or her car daily, the more expensive insurance will be. In Arkansas, credit scores have the potential to impact individual insurance rates as well.
Motorcycle laws exist to keep drivers and passengers safe and out of trouble. If motorcyclists do not follow these laws, they will face fines, penalties, and higher motorcycle insurance premiums. Below are a list of some motorcycle-specific laws for the state of Arkansas, as outlined in the Arkansas Motorcycle Manual.
- Individuals under 21 must wear a helmet.
- Drivers and passengers are required to wear eye protection.
- Headlights and taillights must be on at all times.
- One passenger permitted per motorcycle.
- If carrying a passenger, a motorcycle must be equipped with a passenger seat, footrest, and handholds.