In the state of Colorado, before individuals can obtain the right to drive motorcycles, they must first have a regular driver’s license. This is because the ability to drive a motorcycle is considered an endorsement, which goes on your regular license. After you obtain your license, you can earn your motorcycle endorsement in two ways. The first way is to pass the written test, purchase a permit, pass the motorcycle driving test, and then pay a fee. The other option is to enroll in a motorcycle safety foundation course. This MFS card waives the written and driving tests.
Motorcycle License Requirements
- Driver’s license
- Written exam
- Driving exam
Though it is possible to self-insure, that option is limited to people with a large number of vehicles. For the average motorcycle owner, drivers must obtain, at a minimum, liability insurance from motorcycle insurance companies. Drivers are expected to be covered at a minimum $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person and $50,000 for bodily injury or death of more than one person. Motorcyclists must also have motorcycle insurance coverage of $15,000 for property damages involved in accidents. According to motorcycle insurance Colorado law, all vehicles — motorcycles included — must carry proof of insurance at all times.
In Colorado, geographic location and the amount you drive are factors that help determine your motorcycle insurance premium. Age plays a part as well; the younger you are, the higher your premium will be. Other factors that affect your motorcycle insurance cost include gender, driving history, and marital status. A history littered with accidents and traffic tickets will make insurance difficult to obtain. Males and unmarried individuals have been shown to have higher incidents of car accidents and therefore pay higher premiums. It’s important to shop around to find the best motorcycle insurance policy for you.
It is important for drivers of all vehicles to follow all traffic regulations. These not only keep drivers safe, but also keep them out of trouble with the law. Traffic tickets can lead to higher motorcycle insurance costs. Too many violations can lead to the revoking of your license. In Colorado, there are some motorcycle-specific laws that act as extra precautions to eliminate dangers in traffic. These are listed below.
- Safety helmets required for minors under 18.
- Eye protection is required by law.
- Daytime use of headlights is permitted.
- Passenger seats and footrests are required when a passenger is riding.
- One left or right mirror is required.
- Mufflers are required.
- There are no restrictions on handlebar height.
- Two motorcycles can share a lane.
- Lane splitting (overtaking within the same lane) is prohibited.