Skip to: Navigation | Content | Sidebar | Footer

Motorcycle Insurance in Delaware

In the state of Delaware, a motorcycle endorsement is required before an individual can operate a motorcycle or other two-wheeled, motor-driven vehicle. Before the endorsement can be obtained, the individual must have a driver’s license. Potential motorcyclists must also be at least 16 years old and, if under 18 years old, have parental permission. They will take a written and eye exam, and hold a permit for 60 days, after which they will take a road skills test.

Motorcycle License Requirements

  • Driver’s license
  • Motorcycle education course (if under 18)
  • Parental Permission (if under 18)
  • Permit, held for 60 days
  • Knowledge and road skill exams
  • Vision tests
  • Fees

Completion of a state-approved motorcycle rider education course can waive the knowledge exam, skill exam, and the 60-day learner’s permit.

Insurance Requirements

Motorcycle insurance requirements are strict in Delaware. Motorcyclists must, at minimum, have liability insurance for if they are found at fault for a collision. Delaware law requires motorcyclists to have at least $15,000 of coverage for the injury or death of one person, $30,000 for the injury or death of two or more people, and $10,000 for property damage. Proof of insurance must be carried in the motorcycle at all times. Failure to obtain insurance can lead to fines, jail time, and even the suspension of your license.

Insurance Rates

Motorcycle insurance companies take many factors into consideration when determining the cost of insurance for each individual policy. The make, model, and year are taken into consideration, with newer and more expensive cars leading to higher insurance rates. The location and amount of mileage placed on the car daily also play a part in determining cost. Younger drivers and the elderly have high motorcycle insurance premiums, as do unmarried individuals, as studies have shown that these demographics cause more accidents than others.

In the state of Delaware, students who complete the motorcycle rider education course and/or the experienced rider education course are entitled to insurance discounts.

State Laws

Motorcycle state laws exist to keep motorcyclists as safe as possible. All laws should be followed. Failure to do so can result in citations, which can increase insurance rates. In extreme cases, repetitive or severe offenses can lead to jail time or the suspension of your license. Some motorcycle-specific laws, which are derived from the state website, are outlined below.

  • All motorcyclists must have helmets in their possession, but only individuals aged 19 and younger must wear them.
  • Eye protection is required.
  • Passenger seats and footrests are required when carrying passengers.
  • Eye protection is required.
  • One side mirror, left or right, is required.
  • A muffler is required.
  • Handlebars can be no higher than 15 inches above the seat.