In the state of Florida, individuals earn their licenses by taking a series of exams and a basic rider course. Once an individual earns his or her license, it is included as an endorsement on his or her license, under the expiration date, as motorcycle also or motorcycle only. Individuals must be at least 16 years old to earn their licenses, though they can acquire a learner’s permit at the age of 15. Minors under 18 must go through a graduated licensing process, as outlined on Florida’s state Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles website. That process includes earning a learner’s license and holding it for a year.
Motorcycle License Requirements
- Identification (birth certificate or passport)
- Social Security card
- Parental Permission (if under 18)
- Learner’s license (if under 18)
- Basic rider course
- Vision test
- Road rules test
- Road signs test
- Driving test
Motorcycle insurance laws in Florida require motorcyclists to have, at a minimum, liability insurance. Though Florida is a no-fault state, the personal liability insurance laws only apply to drivers of vehicles with four or more wheels, as explained in the Florida Driver Handbook. Motorcyclists are, however, required to have at least $10,000 of coverage for the injury or death of a person and $20,000 coverage for the injury or death of two or more people. Motorcycle insurance requirements also include $10,000 for property damage that results from a collision. Florida motorcyclists also have the option of fulfilling motorcycle insurance laws Florida by getting a motorcycle insurance policy that covers $30,000 combined single limit liability, which is an alternative to split limits.
As an alternative to seeking coverage from motorcycle insurance companies, drivers can also self-insure by depositing funds with the Bureau of Motorist Compliance or proving possession of unencumbered capital. Whether insured through a company policy or through self-insurance, motorcyclists must carry proof of insurance with them at all times, either in the form of a policy card or certificate issued by the Bureau of Motorist Compliance.
Motorcycle insurance rates are determined by a variety of factors. The most obvious one is the insurance deductible. The higher the deducible an individual chooses, the lower the motorcycle insurance premium will be. Other factors that play a part in establishing insurance rates are age, geographical location, marital status, and the type of vehicle. Insurance companies also look at the amount of mileage put on a vehicle daily. Driving records are taken into consideration as well. A driving history filled with collisions and traffic citations will result in higher premiums, and may even interfere with your ability to acquire adequate coverage.
Driving laws exist to keep all drivers safe. By following the rules of the road, individuals can avoid collisions and also keep themselves out of trouble. Failure to follow state driving laws can result in traffic fines, jail time, and even an inability to acquire adequate insurance coverage. Florida’s Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles graduated licensing webpage outlines driving violations and the state point system. Included below is a list of motorcycle-specific laws for the state of Florida.
- Individuals under 21 must wear a helmet.
- Individuals 21 and over must wear a helmet unless they have at least $10,000 insurance medical coverage.
- Eye protection is required.
- Passenger accommodations are required when carrying passengers.
- One left or right mirror is required.
- Stop lamps and turn signals are required.
- Handlebars cannot be higher than shoulder height.