Before an individual can operate a motorcycle in the state of Georgia, he or she must first have a class M license. In Georgia, all motorbikes, motor-driven cycles, scooters, and other vehicles that have no more than three wheels and engines larger than 50 cc are classified in the motorcycle category. Individuals do not need to have a regular driver’s license to earn a class M driver’s license. However, they must be at least 17 years old and have parental permission (if under 18 years of age).
Motorcycle License Requirements
- Parental permission (if under 18)
- Certificate of attendance (if under 18)
- Motorcycle examination
- Vision test
- Driving test
Individuals can apply for a motorcycle permit, which they can acquire at age 16 after completing driver’s education training.
In Georgia, all drivers, including motorcyclists, must have liability insurance. The motorcycle insurance requirements are a minimum of $25,000 coverage for bodily injury or death of one person, $50,000 coverage for bodily injury or death of two or more people, and $25,000 for property damage that results from an accident. Motorcycle insurance laws require that all Georgia drivers carry proof of insurance in their vehicles at all times. If an individual does not have proof of his or her motorcycle insurance policy upon being pulled over or involved in a collision, he or she can face fines and penalties. As an alternative to obtaining liability insurance through an insurance company, Georgia vehicle owners can self-insure.
Motorcycle insurance premiums vary based on a variety of factors. As younger drivers, males, and unmarried individuals have been shown to be more prone to accidents, they face higher motorcycle insurance costs. Newer motorcycles that require a lot of maintenance will have higher insurance premiums. In Georgia, a low credit score can also lead to more expensive insurance rates. Accident history and previous traffic violations can increase insurance rates as well, and in extreme cases can affect the ability to obtain coverage.
Motorcycle laws exist to keep motorcyclists safe on the road. Following the law will not only keep drivers safe, but it will also keep them from accumulating traffic violations. Below are some of the Georgia state laws regarding motorcycles.
- All motorcyclists must wear helmets.
- Motorcyclists must wear eye protection unless their motorcycles have windscreens.
- Motorcycles must use daytime headlights.
- Passenger seats and footrests are required when carrying a passenger.
- Motorcycles need one left or right mirror.
- Handlebars cannot be higher than 15″ above the seat.
- Passing up another vehicle in the same lane is prohibited.
- Two motorcycles can ride next to each other in the same lane.