In Hawaii, individuals must be at least 16 years old to apply for a motorcycle license. Underage drivers need parental permission before they can apply and must hold a type 2 permit prior to being eligible to earn a motorcycle license. Individuals over 18 do not need to hold a permit prior to taking the necessary tests to earn their motorcycle licenses.
Motorcycle License Requirements
- Photo ID, Social Security card, and birth certificate or Hawaii license
- Parental permission (if under 18)
- Permit (if under 18)
- General knowledge test
- Motorcycle test
- Vision test
- Road test
Hawaii is a “no-fault” state, which means that insured individuals are covered by their own insurance policies regardless of the fault behind the collision. This only applies to injuries, however — not property. The motorcycle insurance requirements in Hawaii are at least $25,000 of coverage for injury or death to a person and $50,000 of coverage for the injury or death of two or more people. Motorcycle insurance laws in Hawaii also require motorcyclists to have $10,000 of coverage for property damages and $10,000 for personal injury protection. All drivers are required to carry proof of their motorcycle insurance policy in their vehicles at all times.
Motorcycle insurance rates in the state of Hawaii are affected by a variety of factors. Younger and unmarried individuals tend to pay higher motorcycle insurance premiums, as they have been statistically shown to cause more accidents. Men pay higher motorcycle insurance prices, as well. The more mileage an individual puts on a motorcycle daily, the higher the insurance rate will be. Insurance rates are also affected by location, the make and model of the motorcycle, and how safe the motorcycle is considered to be.
Not following laws can lead to traffic tickets, jail time, and even license suspension. Multiple offenses can drive up insurance premiums, and in extreme cases, they can even interfere with an individual’s ability to obtain adequate coverage. Below is a list of some motorcycle-specific laws for the state of Hawaii.
- Individuals under the age of 18 must wear a helmet.
- Individuals must wear safety goggles if their motorcycles do not have windscreens.
- When carrying a passenger, motorcycles must have a passenger seat and footrest.
- Handlebar height cannot be higher than 15 inches.
- Motorcycles cannot pass a vehicle in the same lane.
- No more than two motorcycles can ride abreast in the same lane.
- Motorcycles cannot ride in between lanes.