The state of Idaho defines a motorcycle as every motor vehicle having a seat or saddle for the use of the rider and no more than three wheels. This definition excludes motor-driven cycles, motorbikes, tractors and mopeds. To drive a motorcycle, you need a motorcycle endorsement, which requires passing a written knowledge test and a motorcycle skills test, and, if under 21, successfully completing an approved motorcycle rider training course.
Motorcycle License Requirements
- Written knowledge test
- Motorcycle skills test
- Class D driver’s license
- Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards labeling
- Training course (if under 21)
- Test fees
Successful completion of an approved motorcycle rider training course may waive the riding skills test, but only if completed within the year prior to adding the endorsement to your license.
In Idaho, motorcycle insurance requirements mainly concern liability. Drivers are required to have minimum bodily injury coverage of $25,000 for the injury or death of one person, $50,000 for the injury or death of two or more people, and a minimum property damage coverage of $15,000. Drivers are also required to carry proof of their insurance policy while driving at all times or face fines under Idaho’s motorcycle insurance laws.
Drivers in Idaho enjoy one of the lowest insurance rates in the country. Still, not all motorcycle insurance premiums are created equal. In general, insurance companies will consider your age, gender, type of vehicle, area, driving patterns, and driving record and claims history when determining your motorcycle insurance policy. How might that affect you? Drivers under 30 and over 75 tend to be charged higher rates, as are men, since they tend to be involved in more accidents. Expensive cars and motorcycles also tend to cost more to insure. If you live in a highly populated or high-crime area, your motorcycle insurance coverage may also be higher. The more you drive, the higher your rates will be. Also, if you have a history of accidents or filing claims, you may be charged higher rates or denied coverage all together. If that happens, just keep trying other motorcycle insurance companies. In general, you’ll want to get a motorcycle insurance estimate from several different companies to find the best rate.
Laws on motorcycle requirements vary state-to-state, and they are contingent on what state you’re driving in at the time, not where you registered your motorcycle. So if you’re driving in Idaho, you must follow these motorcycle laws, or risk fines and tickets that could result in a higher motorcycle insurance cost or even the loss of your license:
- A brake on at least one wheel, operated by hand or foot.
- Fenders on both wheels that extend in full width from a point just forward of the center of the tire to a point not more than 20″ above the surface of the highway.
- A permanently attached seat and footrests for any passengers.
- A headlight that can reveal a person or vehicle not less than 100 feet ahead when traveling 25 mph or less; not less than 200 feet when traveling 25-35 mph; and not less than 300 feet when traveling more than 35 mph.
- Idaho Department of Transportation-approved helmet for anyone under the age of 18.
- Horn that can be heard up to 200 feet away.
- A mirror that provides a view of the highway for at least 200 feet to the rear.
- A muffler that is not louder than the original muffler installed.
- A red break light that is visible for 100 feet to the rear during normal sunlight.
- One red taillight visible for 500 feet to the rear.
- At least one rear reflector.
- Lane sharing is legal.
- Lane splitting is determined illegal by Idaho Code 49-637, which states, “A vehicle shall be driven as nearly as practicable entirely within a single lane.”