Kansas defines a motorcycle as any motor vehicle with a seat or saddle for riding purposes and designed to travel on not more than three wheels in contact with the ground, excluding a tractor. Kansas funds motorcycle safety courses required to earn a motorcycle operator’s license (M). Obtaining a license requires passing a knowledge test and an on-cycle skill test. Fees for a class M license are $9 for a four-year license and $12.50 for a six-year license. Motorcycle registration requires a signed and notarized manufacturer’s statement of origin or title, an odometer disclosure statement, proof of insurance, a sales tax receipt if purchased from a dealer, proof of payment of personal property taxes, and a signed title and registration application. The title fee is $10 in Kansas.
Motorcycle License Requirements
- Kansas driver’s license
- Vision test
- Motorcycle written test
- Motorcycle skills test
- $9 application fee for a four-year class M license or a $12.50 for a class M six-year license.
The minimum liability insurance requirements in Kansas for motorcycles are $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $10,000 per accident for property damage. Penalties for failure to maintain financial responsibility include a first offense fine of up to $1,000 or a six-month jail sentence, and a fine of up to $2,500, a possible license suspension, and a revoked registration for the second offense. Acceptable proof of financial responsibility include a certificate of self-insurance or an insurance identification card provide by your insurance company. There are two ways to procure insurance:
- Buy a policy — Purchase a policy with liability coverage from a state-licensed insurance provider.
- Self-insurance — Opt for self-insurance and cover your own liability.
The criteria for determining insurance rates in Kansas include age and driving record, where you live, your car make and model, how much you drive, gender, age, prior insurance coverage, education, and credit score. Males and unmarried couples have higher insurance rates than females and married couples, and vehicle cost correlates to the cost of insurance. A history of traffic fines and accidents will raise the cost of insurance, and may even warrant searching for alternative means of proving financial responsibility, such as state treasurer or trust fund deposits.
The consequences for failing to abide by state laws can include speeding tickets, higher motorcycle insurance premiums, and even license revocation. Remember that motorcycle laws vary by state as well, and drivers must follow the laws of the state they are in and not necessarily the laws of the state where the motorcycle is registered. These are the motorcycle state laws for Kansas:
- A safety helmet is required by law under the age of 18, and all riders are required to wear eye protection unless equipped with a windscreen.
- A passenger seat and footrest is required if carrying a passenger.
- Daytime use of headlight is required for motorcycles manufactured on or after 1/1/1978.
- A mirror is required on the left side of the motorcycle, turn signals are required on motorcycles manufactured on or after 1/1/1973, and a muffler is required by Kansas state law (cutouts and bypasses are prohibited).
- Motorcycles are allowed to operate two abreast in the same lane, but lane splitting is prohibited.