Kentucky requires motorcycle drivers to be at least 18 years of age or have a valid driver’s license. The fee for a motorcycle license with a regular driver’s license is $30. A motorcycle-only license is $24. A person under the age of 18 must have a parent or legal guardian sign for a motorcycle instruction permit. A motorcycle operator in Kentucky must have a valid motor vehicle license with a valid motorcycle operator’s endorsement, a motorcycle license or an instructional permit.
Motorcycle License Requirements
- Valid operator’s license
- $30 fee with a regular driver’s license, $24 for a motorcycle-only license.
- Driver’s license application
- General knowledge exam
- Vision exam
Kentucky insurance requires minimum liability coverage of $25,000 per person in an accident, $50,000 for all bodily injuries per accident, and $10,000 for property damage per accident. No-fault personal injury coverage is optional for motorcycles, which provides coverage of up to $10,000 in financial compensation when someone is injured and acquires medical bills, loses employment wages, or needs replacement services regardless of who was at fault. No-fault coverage limits your right to sue the responsible party in the case of an accident. Proof of financial responsibility can be shown in the following ways:
- Evidence of legal liability insurance — An insurance policy is paid over time to a state-approved motorcycle insurance company.
- Letter of credit — A letter of credit is a document issued by a financial institution to provide irrevocable proof of payment.
- Financial responsibility surety bond — A surety bond is issued by a surety company to provide a financial guarantee between the consumer and government institution.
Insurance rates in the state of Kentucky are determined by age, sex, marital status, driver record, car use, place of residence, policy limits, deductibles, type of car, driver training, claims history, and credit scores. Younger drivers have a higher rate of insurance due to a higher rate of accidents among young drivers. A history of traffic fines and accidents will raise the cost of insurance, and may even warrant searching for alternative means of proving financial responsibility, such as state treasurer or trust fund deposits.
Motorcycle drivers must follow the laws of the state the driver is in, not just where the motorcycle is registered. Failure to follow the laws of the state may result in tickets, higher motorcycle insurance premiums, and license suspension. The following are the motorcycle laws for Kentucky:
- A safety helmet is required for novice riders, riders under the age of 21, and instructional permit holders.
- Eye protection is required by law.
- A passenger seat and footrest are required if carrying a passenger.
- Some areas of Kentucky require an annual emissions safety inspection.
- A muffler is required by law; cut-outs and modifications to increase noise beyond that emitted by the original muffler installed on the vehicle are prohibited.