Louisiana classifies motorcycles, motor driven cycles, and motorized bicycles in one endorsement (M). This endorsement also is required for motorized bicycles or mopeds in excess of 5 horsepower. Motorcycles are defined as two-wheeled, motor-driven cycles with a more than 1.5 brake horsepower, an engine capacity of more than 50 cc’s and the ability to drive faster than 25 mph. Applicants for a motorcycle endorsement must possess a valid driver’s license or learner’s permit. A learner’s permit restricts applicants ages 15 or 16 to driving within a distance of three miles from his/her residence, or three miles from a parent, tutor or guardian’s residency. Applicants must pass a motorcycle road rules test and skills test with a 80% score, and furnish a registered motorcycle with insurance and inspection sticker, as well as a helmet.
Motorcycle License Requirements
- Driver’s license or learner’s permit
- Motorcycle road rules test
- Skills test
- Registered motorcycle with current insurance and current inspection sticker.
- Motorcycle helmet
Louisiana requires minimum liability coverage of $15,000 per person for bodily injury or death, $30,000 per accident for bodily injury or death, and $25,000 for property damage. Proof of insurance is necessary for all vehicle operators even if the Louisiana office of motor vehicles has your information on file. Proof of insurance includes an insurance ID card, an insurance binder, a copy of the actual policy or the declaration page, or a written statement from the insurance provider on the company’s letterhead with the vehicle information and the agent’s signature. A high-risk driver will require high-risk auto insurance proving financial responsibility in the form of SR-22 insurance, a policy that allows Louisiana to monitor the driver’s responsibility to maintain the insurance policy.
Louisiana insurance rates depend on education levels, driving habits, environmental factors, gender, age, and area of residency. Women have fewer risk factors than men, and younger men are at a higher risk for accidents or unlawful behavior. As a result, the insurance rates for men are higher than for women. Poor credit ratings and/or driving habits will raise the cost of insurance, and city residents are more likely to have an accident than suburban or rural residents due to population levels.
Motorcycle laws do not reciprocate between states, and drivers must follow the laws of the state the driver is in. Failure to follow state law may result in tickets, increased motorcycle insurance premiums, or even license suspension. These are the motorcycle state laws for Louisiana:
- A safety helmet and eye protection (unless the vehicle is equipped with a windscreen) are required by law for all riders.
- A passenger seat and footrest are required if carrying a passenger.
- Passengers under 5 years of age are prohibited.
- Periodic safety inspection is required by law.
- A left side mirror is required.
- Louisiana does accept motorcycle endorsements from other states.
- Motorcycles may operate two abreast in the same lane, but lane splitting is prohibited.