Criteria for a motorcycle in Maine is two or three wheels larger than 10 inches in diameter and a motor of more than 50 cc, or an electric motor of 1,500 or more watts. A motorcycle license is added to your regular license after completing a road test, taking a 15 hour hands-on course, or by enrolling in an eight-hour, classroom-only course in Maine. To register a dealer-purchased motorcycle, the owner must pay an excise tax at the town office and the registration fees based on the type of plate selected. The owner will require a green dealer’s certificate, a blue title application, evidence of insurance, and a white and yellow copy of the registration application and excise tax receipt. A private sale-purchased motorcycle will require a signed bill of sale, a signed title to the new owner from the previous owner if the vehicle is a 1995 model year or newer, evidence of insurance, a white and yellow copy of the registration application, and an excise tax receipt.
Motorcycle License Requirements
- Motorcycle permit application
- Written exam
- Road test
- $10 fee to apply for a permit and license and to take the exams
- $30 for a photo license
Maine offers a nationally standardized Motorcycle Rider Course, a 15-hour riding course taught through state authorized private driver’s education schools, as an alternative to the Maine BMV road test.
A minimum insurance coverage of $50,000 for the injury or death to anyone person, $100,000 for one accident resulting in injury or death of more than one person, and $25,000 for property damage is required by the state of Maine. Insurance must be proven to the state either with an insurance card, a declaration letter from the insurance agency, an insurance binder, or a summary document of the insurance policy, all of which must display the amount of insurance, the expiration dates, the policy number, your name, and the motorcycle identification information. The only alternative to liability insurance in the state of Maine is the Maine Automobile Insurance Plan if insurance cannot be obtained through regular means.
Insurance rates are usually affected by age, sex, marital status, driver record, car use, place of residence, type of car, driver training, claims history, and credit scores. Younger drivers have a higher rate of insurance in Maine due to a higher rate of accidents among young drivers. A history of traffic fines and accidents will also raise the cost of insurance, and may even warrant searching for alternative means of proving financial responsibility, such as state treasurer or trust fund deposits. The law prohibits insurance refusal based solely on age or credit information, and mid-term cancellation (60 or more days into the policy) must be based on nonpayment of the premium on or before the date on the bill, fraud or material misrepresentation affecting the policy, and suspension of license, as defined by the Maine Automobile Insurance Cancellation Control Act.
Motorcycle laws fluctuate between states, and drivers are required to follow the laws of the state they’re in. Failure to follow state law may result in tickets, higher motorcycle insurance premiums, and/or license revocation. These are the motorcycle state laws for Maine:
- A safety helmet is required by law for driver’s under 18 years old, operating under a learner’s permit, or operating less than one year with license/endorsement. There is no restriction on eye protection.
- Daytime use of a headlight and turn signals are required if the vehicle was manufactured in or after 1974. A mirror and a muffler are required.
- A passenger seat and a passenger footrest are required for passengers.
- Handlebar grips should be below shoulder height.
- Periodic safety inspection is required by law.
- Motorcycles may ride two abreast in the same lane, but lane splitting is prohibited.