A motorcycle endorsement in the state of Michigan is designated on a valid driver’s license as “CY.” To obtain a “CY” endorsement, a driver must visit the Secretary of State office to take a vision and written knowledge test, pass a skills test from a rider skills organization, or complete a certified motorcycle safety course and present the completion certificate at the Secretary of State office. The endorsement fee is $13.50. Drivers 16 or 17 years old are required to take a motorcycle safety training course. Drivers 18 years or older are not required to take a motorcycle rider safety course unless the driver fails the rider skills test twice. The driver will first obtain a Temporary Instruction Permit after passing the vision and motorcycle knowledge tests. The Temporary Instruction Permit is valid for 180 days, during which the driver may not ride at night or carry passengers. The driver must also be under the supervision of a licensed motorcycle operator who is at least 18 years old.
Motorcycle License Requirements
- Michigan driver’s license
- completion certificate of a motorcycle safety course or skills test
- vision test
- knowledge test
- $13.50 endorsement fee
Michigan requires drivers hold a minimum liability insurance coverage of $20,000 for a single person injury, $40,000 for all persons in a single accident, and $10,000 for property damage. Motorcycle insurance in Michigan is not no-fault insurance, meaning insurance does not cover all damage and injury regardless of fault. Michigan drivers must also carry personal injury protection (PIP) and property protection insurance (PPI). PIP and PPI do not pay for damage to the vehicle or cover theft, which require the driver carry collision coverage and comprehensive coverage.
Some of the factors insurance companies use to set rates by in the state of Michigan include the type of vehicle, driving record, age and length of driving experience, area of residence, and number of policies with the insurer. Auto insurance is regulated by the state law on a competitive basis, and automotive policies include group and individual policies, and more factors will be considered for group policies than individual policies.
Failure to follow the law of the state the driver is in may result in tickets, higher motorcycle insurance premiums, and/or license suspension or revocation. These are the state motorcycle laws for Michigan:
- A helmet is required by law for all motorcycle riders. Eye protection is required unless the vehicle is equipped with a windscreen
- A passenger seat and a passenger footrest are required if carrying a passenger.
- Random safety inspection is required by law.
- A muffler is required and cut-outs are prohibited. A mirror is required by law, but turn signals are not required. Handlebar height is restricted to a maximum of 15 inches above the seat.
- The maximum allowable sound levels from 50 feet are 86 dbA at a speed over 35 mph, 82dBA at a speed less than 35 mph, and 95 dBA under stationary run-up test at 75 inches.
- Motorcycles may operate two abreast in the same lane, but motorcycles may not pass between lanes of traffic except on the left of traffic moving in the same direction in a two-way lane, or on the left or right of traffic on a one-way street in an unoccupied lane.