Minnesota defines a motorcycle as a motor vehicle with a seat or a saddle that is designed to travel on two or three wheels in contact with the ground, including a motor scooter and bicycles with a motor attached. A Department of Vehicle Safety exam is required to obtain a motorcycle license endorsement. Drivers must have a valid Minnesota driver’s license, pass a knowledge test, pay a fee of $21, pass the riding state skills test, and pay a duplicate license fee to receive the endorsement. If the rider is under 18 years of age, he/she is required to take the Minnesota Motorcycle Safety Center Basic Rider Course.
Motorcycle License Requirements
- Minnesota driver’s license
- $21 fee
- Safety exam
- Knowledge test
- Skills test
Riders 18 years or older may use a skills test waiver from a basic rider course or third party test to waive the riding skills test. Successful completion of the basic rider course requires 100% attendance and a passing grade on the basic rider skills test.
Minnesota requires minimum personal injury liability of $30,000 for a single person, personal injury liability of $60,000 for all persons in a single accident, and a property damage liability of $10,000. Drivers must be able to prove financial responsibility at all times.
Minnesota factors in the driver’s age; driving record; area of residence; the model, style, and age of the motorcycle; number of miles driven each year; and where the motorcycle is stored when calculating insurance premiums. Discounts for motorcycle premiums in Minnesota are included for multiple motorcycles, motorcycle association, experienced riders, antitheft devices, and for graduating training courses. Additional coverage may be added to liability insurance, including coverage for medical bills received from an injured party, collision to cover damage to the insured’s vehicle, comprehensive coverage for fire, theft, or vandalism, and coverage for under/uninsured motorists.
Minnesota motorcycle laws may not reciprocate between other states. Failure to follow law of the state the driver is in may result in tickets, higher motorcycle insurance premiums, and/or license suspension or revocation. These are the state motorcycle laws for Minnesota:
- A helmet is required by law for all motorcycle riders under the age of 18. Eye protection is required by law.
- If carrying a passenger, a passenger seat and a passenger footrest are required.
- Random safety inspection is required by law.
- A mirror is required by law.
- A muffler is required; noise modification beyond ranges from 80-90 dBA is prohibited.
- Motorcycles may operate two abreast in the same lane, but lane splitting is prohibited.