Mississippi requires drivers to pass both a written and a driving skills test and pay a fee to obtain a motorcycle endorsement. If the driver holds a valid motorcycle endorsement from outside of the state of Mississippi, the written and skills tests may be waived. An inspection sticker and proof of insurance are required of the driver before the road test.
Motorcycle License Requirements
- A valid Mississippi driver’s license
- A written test and a skills test
- A $14 fee
- Proof of insurance
- Motorcycle registration
Mississippi requires a minimum financial liability coverage of $25,000 per person for a single accident, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $25,000 per accident for property damage. Liability coverage will only pay up to the limits of the driver’s insurance if the driver is at fault; the driver is responsible for any damages over that limit. Further coverage is necessary to cover medical bills and vehicle repair. Mississippi law requires drivers maintain liability insurance and carry proof of financial responsibility at all times. Proof of financial responsibility may be shown by one of the following ways:
- Proof of liability insurance – Issued by a state approved insurance company for the minimum liability coverage.
- A surety bond – For the same amounts as the minimum liability coverage, issued by a state-approved surety company.
- A cash or security deposit – The cash or security deposit must equal the amount of the minimum liability requirements, and is deposited with the state department.
Automotive insurance premiums in Mississippi are affected by driving record, type of vehicle, credit history, claims history, type of coverage, age, driver safety education, safety and anti-theft devices installed on the vehicle, number of vehicles insured, and area of residency. A statistically higher rate of accidents among younger drivers raises the cost of insurance premium for a young driver. Discounts are usually available for anti-theft and safety equipment, and the completion of defensive driving courses.
Laws vary between states, and a driver must follow the law of the state the driver is in. Failure to follow state law may result in tickets, higher motorcycle insurance premiums, and/or license suspension or revocation. The motorcycle laws in the state of Mississippi are detailed as the following: