In Nebraska, a motorcycle is defined by state law as “a motor vehicle having a seat or saddle for the use of the driver and designed to travel on not more than three wheels in contact with the ground, but excluding a tractor.” A Class M license authorizes a license holder to operate a motorcycle or three-wheeled motor vehicle. Nebraska residents who are at least 17 years old and have held a provisional operator’s permit (POP) for one year or more without accumulating more than three points are eligible to receive a motorcycle license. Otherwise, the applicant must be at least 18 years old.
Motorcycle License Requirements
- Proof of residence
- Vision test
- Knowledge test
- On-cycle skill test
Both the motorcycle written and skills tests will be waived for those who complete a state-approved motorcycle safety training class.
Motorcycle owners must have a policy that covers liability, no-fault personal injury protection, and collision coverage. Riders can select an auto insurance provider that also insures motorcyclists, or they can pick a carrier that specializes in motorcycle insurance. Nebraska residents must carry liability coverage of $25,000 per person per accident, $50,000 of bodily injury coverage per accident, and $25,000 of property damage coverage per accident. Drivers must carry proof of insurance coverage with them at all times.
You should compare quotes from a variety of motorcycle insurance carriers. Your motorcycle insurance rates will vary. Rates depend largely on the motorcycle’s make, model, and age; how often you ride the motorcycle; your personal driving record and the driving records of all other riders;the ages of all riders; and the year the motorcycle was registered.
However, completing a motorcycle safety course may reduce the cost of your motorcycle insurance rates. Ask your insurance agent if your provider offers discounts for taking safety courses. If you don’t ride your motorcycle in the winter months, you may also want to consider seasonal coverage for your motorcycle. This eliminates liability and possibly collision coverage during the months you do not ride.
In accordance with Nebraska law, motorcycle drivers must follow the laws listed below. Failure to follow these laws may result in speeding tickets, higher insurance premiums, traffic accidents, and even the loss of your motorcycle license. Drivers must:
- Carry proof of insurance when driving. No proof of insurance will result in a fine of up to $500.
- Wear protective gear that meets standards of the U.S. Department of Transportation. According to Nebraska law, helmets are mandatory for both drivers and passengers. Anyone in violation of this law can be fined up to $50, and his or her license and/or registration may also be suspended.
- The driver must ride on a permanent and regular seat, and shall not carry any passenger unless the motorcycle is designed to carry more than one person.
- Any person shall ride upon a motorcycle only while sitting astride the seat, facing forward.
- Nobody should operate a motorcycle while carrying any package, bundle, or other article which prevents him or her from keeping both hands on the handlebars.
- No operator shall carry any person in a position that will interfere with the operation or control of the motorcycle or the vision of the operator.
- The operator of a motorcycle shall not overtake and pass in the same lane occupied by the vehicle being overtaken.
- No person shall operate a motorcycle between lanes of traffic or between adjacent lines or rows of vehicles.
- No person who rides upon a motorcycle shall attach himself or the motorcycle to any other vehicle on a roadway.