In Nevada, you need Class M license to operate a motorcycle. You are eligible to receive an instructional permit at 15.5 years old, but you must be 16 years old to get a motorcycle license. Nevada will transfer motorcycle endorsements and Class M licenses from most other states. New applicants have two options. They can opt to obtain a license by passing an approved course from a third-party provider, or they can pass the knowledge and skills test at a local DMV office.
Motorcycle License Requirements
- Application form at a DMV Full-Service Office
- Proof of your identity
- Proof of residence
- Vision test
- Knowledge test about traffic laws and motorcycle safety
- Motorcycle Operators Skill Test (MOST)
- If under 18 years old, a parent or guardian must sign the financial responsibility statement on the application in person at the DMV
- $25 testing fee will apply in addition to the licensing fee
You do not have to take the written and skills tests if you complete a course certified by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation. Most of these courses are sponsored by the Office of Traffic Safety’s Nevada Rider program. A motorcycle is provided and an instruction permit is not necessary.
Upon completion of the program, bring the Certificate of Completion and your existing Nevada license to a DMV office. Your new license, with Class M certification, will be issued, and no additional tests are required. If you are under 18 years old, you must have a parent or guardian sign the financial responsibility statement on the application in person at the DMV. The DMV will accept courses up to one year after completion.
Nevada requires motorcycle drivers to carry liability insurance for their vehicles. This covers the driver’s financial responsibility if he or she causes an accident. Owners must purchase auto insurance through a legally authorized insurance company. The only alternative to this is self-insurance, but you must own 11 or more vehicles to qualify for this option. With self-insurance, a calculated amount of money is set aside to compensate for any potential future loss. The minimum insurance requirements are $15,000 in bodily injury coverage for one person in an accident; $30,000 in total bodily injury coverage per accident; and $10,000 in property damage coverage per accident. The policy provider must be licensed in Nevada. While the state requires only liability insurance, many drivers prefer to get “full coverage,” which usually includes comprehensive and collision coverage.
Motorcycle insurance rates are based on each individual’s unique circumstances, so insurance rates will vary. You should compare quotes from a variety of motorcycle insurance carriers before selecting one. Some of the factors that rates depend on include the motorcycle’s make, model, and age; how often you ride the motorcycle; your personal driving record and the driving records of all other riders; the ages of all riders; and the year the motorcycle was registered. However, completing a motorcycle safety course may reduce the cost of your motorcycle insurance rates. Ask your insurance agent if your provider offers discounts for taking safety courses.
In accordance with Nevada law, motorcycle drivers must:
- Carry proof of insurance.
- Motorcyclists must wear helmets in Nevada. Protective face shields or goggles are also required unless the motorcycle is equipped with a windshield or screen.
- Motorcyclists have the right to use a complete traffic lane.
- Motorcyclists may not pass or ride next to another vehicle in the same travel lane.
- Motorcycles may not be driven between vehicles in adjacent lanes even if the vehicles are stopped.
- Motorcycles may be operated two abreast in a single traffic lane if both drivers consent. However, a staggered formation is preferred.