In New Hampshire, you can get a motorcycle endorsement if you already have a New Hampshire driver’s license. However, those who do not have a New Hampshire driver’s license can instead get a Special Motorcycle License. The New Hampshire DMV doesn’t publish a motorcycle manual, but New Hampshire law requires that people ages 16 to 18 successfully complete the state’s popular Motorcycle Rider Training Course with permission from a parent or guardian. Interested persons 18 years and older can either complete the course or complete written and road tests at a DMV motorcycle road testing location. New Hampshire also recognizes endorsements from other states.
Motorcycle License Requirements
- Proof of residence
- Written knowledge test
- On-cycle skill test
- Fees ($30 for learner’s permit)
You will need to successfully pass the written test to obtain the permit. You will receive the date, time, and location of the skills test upon application.
Both the written and skills tests will be waived for those who enroll in the Motorcycle Rider Training Course, which is based on curriculum developed by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation. You must be eligible for a motorcycle permit to do so. You can register for the course by submitting the Motorcycle Rider Course Registration Form to the DMV. New Hampshire offers three motorcycle training classes, at the basic, intermediate, and experienced levels. They cost $110, $50, and $60, respectively. The training season runs from the beginning of April to the end of October, and most classes are held on weekends, although some weekday courses are available.
New Hampshire’s minimum insurance requirements for motorcycles fall under the minimum requirements for auto insurance. Vehicle owners are required to have liability coverage, which pays for damages to others for which they might be legally liable. Owners must have $25,000 per person for bodily injury; up to $50,000 if two or more persons are hurt; and $25,000 for property damage. Note that liability coverage does not pay to repair damage to your own vehicle. You do not have to buy collision coverage or comprehensive coverage to protect your own vehicles, unless your lender obligates you to do so.
Motorcycle insurance rates are based on each individual’s unique circumstances, so insurance rates will vary. When it comes to purchasing motorcycle insurance, there are several options, so buyers should consult multiple carriers. Rates depend largely on the motorcycle’s make, model, and age; how often you ride the motorcycle; your personal driving record and the driving records of all other riders; and the year the motorcycle was registered.
However, completing a motorcycle safety course may reduce the cost of your motorcycle insurance rates. Ask your insurance agent if your provider offers discounts for taking safety courses.
In accordance with New Hampshire law:
- Motorcyclists under 18 years old must wear safety helmets, which should have either a neck or chin strap.
- Eye protection is required unless the motorcycle is equipped with a windshield or screen.
- A driver may only carry a passenger if the motorcycle is designed to carry more than one person. It must have a passenger’s seat and footrest.
- The motorcycle’s noise level should not exceed 106dBA when measured 20 inches from the exhaust pipe at a 45 degree angle.
- Handle bar grips cannot be higher than the shoulder level of the driver when in the seat or saddle.
- Lane splitting is prohibited.