North Dakota law requires all motorcycle operators to have either a Class M permit or license. Applicants who do not already have a North Dakota driver’s license should study both the Motorcycle Operator’s Manual as well as the driver’s manual, Rules of the Road.
North Dakota residents who are at least 14 years old can obtain a permit, but 14- and 15-year-old operators may only drive motorcycles with a 250 cc engine, at most. Driving without the Class M permit or license will result in a $20 fine and a four-point assessment on your driving record.
Motorcycle License Requirements
- Proof of residence
- Vision test
- Written knowledge test
- On-cycle skill test
- Fees ($5 fee for each written and on-cycle skill test)
Applicants who are 14 or 15 years old must successfully complete a state-approved motorcycle safety course. They must also own a Class M permit for a minimum of two months before they can take the on-cycle skill test. At this time, the road test requirement may be waived.
According to North Dakota law, motorcyclists must purchase a liability policy for their vehicles that meets the state’s minimum insurance requirements. Drivers must have at least $25,000 for bodily injuries or death to one person in an accident; $50,000 for bodily injuries or deaths to more than one person in an accident; and $25,000 for property damage occurring in a single accident. North Dakota law also requires that motorcycle drivers carry proof of insurance with them at all times.
If you are buying motorcycle insurance, shop around to ensure that you get the best rate based on your needs. Check with multiple insurance providers before you make a final decision because various carriers offer different rates. Motorcycle insurance rates are based on each individual’s unique circumstances. They depend largely on factors such as the motorcycle’s make, model, and age; how often you ride the motorcycle; your personal driving record and the driving records of all other riders; and the year the motorcycle was registered.
Most insurance carriers offer a discount to motorcyclists who complete a certified motorcycle training course. Ask your insurance agent if your provider offers discounts to rider education course graduates.
Motorcycle drivers must follow the North Dakota’s traffic laws. Failure to follow these laws may result in speeding tickets, higher insurance premiums, and suspension or loss of your motorcycle license. In accordance with North Dakota law:
- Drivers must carry proof of insurance.
- Motorcyclists under the age of 18 must wear a safety helmet that meets U.S. Department of Transportation standards. If the operator is required to wear a safety helmet, any passenger, regardless of age, must also wear a safety helmet.
- A passenger’s seat and footrest are required if the motorcycle is carrying passengers.
- A muffler is required, and cutouts are prohibited.
- All motorcycles operating on streets shall meet noise decibel limitations as established by the EPA.
- Handle bars or grips must be below the operator’s shoulders.
- Motorcycles may ride abreast in the same lane, but a staggered formation is preferred. Lane splitting is prohibited.