Oklahoma defines a motorcycle as a vehicle that has a seat or saddle for the use of each rider, not more than three wheels in contact with the ground, and a combustion engine with a piston displacement of 150 cubic centimeters; however, the law excludes tractors. Oklahoma residents must have a Class M permit, license, or endorsement to operate a motorcycle. Residents can seek a permit once they turn 14 years old, and the motorcycle license is typically reserved for those between the ages of 14 and 16 who do not yet have a driver’s license. The endorsement, on the other hand, is added to an existing driver’s license. Applicants should consult the Motorcycle Operator’s Manual and Oklahoma’s Driver’s Manual.
Motorcycle License Requirements
- Proof of residence
- Vision test
- Written knowledge test
- On-cycle skill test
- Fees (See page 1-11 of the Driver’s Manual)
Those who seek a motorcycle license will have to take two written exams. The first is the basic exam that all drivers take to attain a driver’s license, and the second exam focuses on operating a motorcycle.
After passing the written exam, all applicants will receive a motorcycle learner’s permit, which allows them to operate a motorcycle under certain restrictions. It must be held for at least 30 days. During this time, permit holders can choose to take a Motorcycle Safety Foundation course. If they successfully complete this course, the driving test may be waived.
According to Oklahoma law, motorcyclists must maintain proof of financial responsibility and carry proof of insurance while driving. At minimum, all motorcyclists are required to have liability insurance, which pays others for damages when you are legally liable. The minimum requirements for liability coverage in Oklahoma are $10,000 for bodily injury or death to one person in one accident; $20,000 for bodily injury or death to two or more people in one accident; and $10,000 for property damage.
When you begin shopping for motorcycle insurance, check with multiple insurance providers before you make a final decision. Providers often offer different rates, so settle on the one that best suits your needs. Motorcycle insurance rates are based on each individual’s unique circumstances. They depend largely on factors such as the motorcycle’s make, model, and age; how often you ride the motorcycle; your personal driving record and the driving records of all other riders; and the year the motorcycle was registered.
In Oklahoma, insurance discounts are available for up to three years after you have completed a motorcycle accident prevention course. Ask your insurance agent if your provider offers discounts to rider education course graduates. Taking such a class can save you money in the long run.
Motorcycle drivers must follow traffic laws, and failure to follow these motorcycle-specific laws may result in speeding tickets, higher insurance premiums, and suspension or loss of your motorcycle permit or license. In accordance with Ohio law:
- Drivers must carry proof of insurance.
- Motorcyclists under the age of 18 must wear a safety helmet that meets U.S. Department of Transportation standards.
- Eye protection is required unless the motorcycle is equipped with a windscreen.
- Drivers must use headlights during the day. The use of a modulated headlight is permitted.
- A passenger’s seat and footrest are required if the motorcycle is carrying passengers.
- Handle bars may not be higher than the eye level of the operator.