Oregon law defines a motorcycle as any self propelled, motorized vehicle that has a seat or saddle for the use of the rider; is designed to operate on the ground on wheels; and is designed to travel with not more than three wheels in contact with the ground. Mopeds and farm tractors are excluded. Oregon’s Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division issues motorcycle permits and endorsements to riders 16 years of age or older. However, applicants do not have to hold a permit prior to receiving the endorsement.
Motorcycle License Requirements
- Proof of residence
- Vision test
- Motorcycle rider education course (Guidelines)
- Fees (Permit: $23.50 and valid for one year; Endorsement: $87 for those who already have an Oregon driver’s license, and $144 for those who do not)
Several restrictions apply to permit holders. For instance, they may only ride during daylight hours and may not carry passengers. A complete list of restrictions can be found here.
If you are under 18 years old, your application must include your parent or legal guardian’s signature. If you are not required to take a motorcycle rider education course based on certain guidelines, you must take a written knowledge test and an on-cycle skills test. However, you can opt to take an approved rider education course instead of these tests. Applicants can enroll in a TEAM OREGON rider training course. The Basic Rider Training course waives both the motorcycle knowledge test and the motorcycle skills test. For more information, visit the website or call toll free at (800) 545-9944.
According to Oregon law, all motorcyclists are required to have liability insurance, which pays others for damages when you are legally liable. The minimum requirements for liability coverage in Oregon are $25,000 for bodily injury or death to one person in one accident; $50,000 for bodily injury or death to two or more people in one accident; and $20,000 per crash for damage to the property of others. Oregon requires every liability policy to provide personal injury protection, which covers medical expenses, in the amount of $15,000 per person. Drivers must also have uninsured motorist coverage for $25,000 per person and $50,000 per crash for bodily injury. Oregon law requires that drivers carry insurance. If you drive without it, you could be fined, your license could be suspended, or your vehicle could be towed.
When it comes to buying motorcycle insurance, shop around. Providers often offer different rates, so settle on the one that best suits state requirements and your own needs. Motorcycle insurance rates are based on each individual’s unique circumstances. They depend largely on factors such as the motorcycle’s make, model, and age; how often you ride the motorcycle; your personal driving record and the driving records of all other riders; and the year the motorcycle was registered.
Insurance discounts may be available if you have completed a motorcycle accident prevention course. Ask your insurance agent if your provider offers discounts to rider education course graduates. Taking such a class can save you money in the long run.
In accordance with Oregon law, motorcycle drivers must follow the traffic laws listed below. Failure to follow these motorcycle-specific laws may result in speeding tickets, higher insurance premiums, and the suspension or loss of your motorcycle permit or license. Oregon law states that:
- Drivers must carry proof of insurance.
- Motorcyclists must wear a safety helmet that meets U.S. Department of Transportation standards.
- Drivers must use headlights during the day. The use of a modulated headlight is permitted.
- A passenger’s seat and footrest are required if the motorcycle is carrying passengers.
- The maximum A-weighted noise levels, as measured at 20 inches, are 102dBA for a motorcycle manufactured in or before 1975, and 99 dBA for a motorcycle manufactured after 1975.
- Two motorcycles may ride abreast in the same lane, but lane splitting is prohibited.