Utah state law defines a motorcycle as “a motor vehicle, other than a tractor, having a seat or saddle for the use of the rider and designed to travel with not more than three wheels in contact with the ground.” Utah requires all motorcyclists to obtain a motorcycle endorsement on their driver’s license. Applicants who successfully complete a vision and written test will receive their restricted motorcycle learner’s permit. Once they pass the motorcycle skills test, they can receive their license endorsement. Riders are eligible to apply for their license with motorcycle endorsement at age 16. However, those under 18 will need parental consent. Once properly licensed, operators must maintain a valid motorcycle insurance policy, to be carried with them at all times while operating the vehicle.
Motorcycle License Requirements
- At least 16 years of age
- Parental consent required if under 18
- If applying for an original Utah license with a motorcycle endorsement, proof of name, date of birth, permanent address, and Social Security number are required
- Fee of $34.50 for an original Utah license with a motorcycle endorsement, or $9.50 to add a motorcycle endorsement to your existing driver’s license
- Vision test
- Motorcycle knowledge test
- Motorcycle skills test
Applicants under 19 must hold their motorcycle learner’s permit for at least two months before they can take the skills test for their license endorsement. The one exception is if they have completed a Motorcycle Safety Foundations Basic Rider Education course.
The state of Utah requires all motor vehicle operators to maintain proof of financial responsibility in the case of an accident. In terms of motorcycle insurance, Utah requires a minimum of 25/50/15. This equals $25,000 of bodily injury coverage for injuries or death for a single individual in an accident, $50,000 of bodily injury coverage for injuries or death for multiple individuals in an accident, and $15,000 of coverage for property damage. Riders must carry proof of coverage with them at all times while operating the vehicle to comply with state motorcycle insurance requirements. In Utah, motorcyclists have several options for securing coverage:
- Buy insurance — Insurance brokers or agents can assist motorcyclists in purchasing the required or desired coverage. Most operators who choose this option pay a monthly motorcycle insurance premium.
- Bond — Motorcyclists in Utah can use a surety bond as proof of financial responsibility. This typically requires the operator seeking insurance to leverage cash or real estate.
- State treasurer’s certificate — This requires the deposit of cash or securities equal to $160,000 with the state treasurer.
- Self-funded coverage — Individuals who own more than 24 motor vehicles and deposit $200,000, plus $100 for each motor vehicle up to and including 1,000 vehicles and $50 for every motor vehicle over 1,000, can receive a certificate of self-funded coverage.
For those researching motorcycle insurance cost, understanding all the factors that influence your quote is essential. Motorcycle insurance companies calculate the price of coverage based on your gender, age, marital status, geographical location, annual mileage, driving record, and the type of vehicle you have. Insurance rates can increase if you live in a high crime area, have an expensive vehicle, travel more than the average motorist, are part of a high-risk demographic (such as young unmarried men), or have a history of traffic violations or accidents. Additionally, motorcycle insurance prices average more than standard car insurance because of the increased risk of accidents and injury while operating a motorcycle.
For your personal safety and the safety of other motorists, it is important to both understand and adhere to all traffic rules and regulations in your state. Violations can result in tickets, increased insurance rates, the loss of your license, or even injury. Some important laws for Utah motorcyclists are listed below:
- Protective headgear is required for riders under 18.
- Footrests must be available to passengers on all motorcycles.
- Handlebar height must not exceed shoulder height.
- Attaching to another vehicle while operating a motorcycle is prohibited.
- Lane splitting is prohibited.
- Operating motorcycles more than two abreast in a single lane is prohibited.