In the state of West Virginia, a motorcycle is defined as a motor vehicle, which is not a tractor, that has a seat for a rider and is designed to travel on no more than three wheels on the ground. To legally drive a motorcycle, you must be at least 16 years of age and have an F endorsement on your driver’s license or a Class F (motorcycles only) license. To get an F endorsement put on your driver’s license, you must pass a motorcycle road skills test or complete the West Virginia Motorcycle Rider Education Program. To obtain a Class F license, you must have a Motorcycle Instruction Permit and pass a motorcycle road skills test or complete the West Virginia Motorcycle Rider Education Program.
Motorcycle License Requirements
- Have a motorcycle instruction permit
- Completed requirements for level 2 or class E driver’s license (if under the age of 18)
- Knowledge test
- On-cycle skills test
West Virginia motorcycle insurance laws require drivers to have compulsory liability insurance with motorcycle insurance requirements of 20/40/10. Motorcycle insurance coverage for the bodily injury of another person in a single accident is a minimum of amount of $20,000. A minimum of $40,000 is required for total bodily injury coverage for all injuries in a single accident. And the minimum requirement for coverage of property damage in a single accident is $10,000. Motorcycle insurance laws require drivers to be able to provide proof of insurance when operating a motorcycle. This means you will have to carry your motorcycle insurance policy any time you go for a ride. Failure to have insurance can result in a $200 penalty fee and repeat offenses can result in the suspension of your driver’s license.
There is only one way to obtain coverage in the state of West Virginia:
- Buy insurance – When you choose to buy insurance, you decide, with the help of agents and brokers, which motorcycle insurance companies offer the best motorcycle insurance estimate for coverage.
When it comes to factors that influence insurance rates, criteria can differ from state to state. In the state of West Virginia, insurance companies can examine a number of things, including your age, gender, location, occupation, and marital status. These factors can influence your motorcycle insurance premium in many ways. For example, men between the ages of 16 to 25 are more likely to speed and receive traffic tickets than women of the same age, and therefore are considered more risky to insure so they are charged more.
The type of motorcycle driven and amount of riding experience is also taken into consideration because expensive bikes will cost more to insure and those who have been riding motorcycles longer are more likely to be safer drivers. Driving records are often looked at before determining one’s motorcycle insurance cost. Drivers with tickets and other violations on their record will likely see that their motorcycle insurance average cost will be higher or may find it harder to get insured at all.
It is extremely important to follow state laws concerning motorcycles and motor vehicles. Those who fail to abide by the law will likely face legal consequences like traffic tickets and license suspension, as well as financial consequences such as higher motorcycle insurance premiums. Here are some of the motorcycle laws for West Virginia:
- Safety helmets meeting current performance specifications must be worn by motorcycle drivers and passengers.
- When on the highway, motorcycles must display lighted head lamps.
- The handlebar height can be at a maximum of 15″ above the seat.
- Motorcycle drivers and passengers must wear eye protection.
- If carrying a passenger on a motorcycle, a passenger seat and footrest are required.