In the state of Wisconsin, motorcycles are defined as a motor vehicle designed and built to have a maximum of three wheels, having its own power source, and capable of speeds higher than 30 mph with a 150-pound rider in ideal road conditions. You need a class M license or motorcycle instruction permit to drive a motorcycle. To qualify for a motorcycle license, an individual must be at least 16 years old and have passed a motorcycle skills test.
Motorcycle License Requirements
- Parental consent (if under 18)
- Proof of completion of an approved driver education course (if under 18)
- Knowledge test
- Motorcycle skills test
The motorcycle skills test may be waived for those who pass the motorcycle knowledge test and complete an approved basic rider course.
Motorcycle insurance laws in Wisconsin require drivers to have, at a minimum, compulsory liability insurance. The minimum amount of motorcycle insurance coverage for the bodily injury of another person in a single accident is $25,000 of coverage. They are also required to have a minimum of $50,000 for total bodily injury coverage for all injuries in a single accident. Motorcycle insurance requirements also include a minimum of $10,000 coverage for property damages that occur in an accident. Financial responsibility is required of motorcyclists in Wisconsin, and failure to have insurance can result in up to a $500 fine. Motorcycle insurance law requires motorists to have proof of insurance when driving.
There are three ways to get this coverage in the state of Wisconsin:
- Buy insurance – By buying insurance, you are able to decide with the help of agents and brokers which is the best motorcycle insurance policy for you offered through motorcycle insurance companies.
- Self-Insurance – A cash deposit with the Wisconsin Department of Transportation can serve as self-insurance.
- Post Bond – By posting a bond issued by an insurance company, your motorcycle will be insured.
Criteria for determining insurance rates differ from state to state. In Wisconsin, insurance companies examine age, gender, occupation, and credit history. The type of motorcycle being driven is also taken into consideration because more expensive bikes will result in a higher motorcycle insurance premium, as they cost more to repair or replace. Insurance companies will also look at your driving history for accidents or violations. Those with clean driving records won’t have as high of a motorcycle insurance cost because they are less likely to be involved in an accident. Motorists with a several violations on their record may find it harder to get insured or to keep their premiums low.
In order to ride safely and avoid penalties, riders should make every effort to follow state laws regarding motorcycles and motor vehicles. Those who do not follow the law can face severe consequences and receive traffic violations, higher motorcycle insurance premiums, and possible suspension of license. Motorcycle laws for Wisconsin are as follows.
- Safety helmets are required for drivers and passengers under 18 or with a cycle instruction permit.
- Headlights and taillights must be on at all times when riding on a highway.
- Eye protection must be worn when operating a motorcycle on a highway.
- The handlebar height can be at a maximum of 30 inches above the seat.
- Two motorcyclists may ride side by side in a single traffic lane if both riders consent.
- Lane splitting (or “white lining”) is illegal. Motorcycles must be operated within a single traffic lane.
- No more than two people are allowed to ride on a motorcycle while it is in operation.