In the state of Wyoming, a motorcycle is defined as a motor vehicle in which the rider straddles a seat or saddle, and that is designed to travel with no more than three wheels in contact with the ground, according to the Wyoming Legislative Service Office. This definition excludes off-road recreation vehicles, but it includes recreational motor vehicles designed primarily for off-road use that are ridden astride and travel on four wheels. To legally drive a motorcycle in Wyoming, you need a Class M license, which will permit you to operate a motorcycle or three-wheel trike (Class A, B, or C licenses can be endorsed to include the Class M classification). Individuals as young as 15 may be issued restricted-use instruction permits to operate a motorcycle after meeting all requirements.
Motorcycle License Requirements
- Written motorcycle knowledge test
- On-cycle skills test
- Vision screening
- Parental permission (if under 18)
Individuals who successfully complete an approved Basic Rider Course, developed by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation, will receive a waiver of all testing for a motorcycle operator’s license for two years. To participate, students must be at least 15 and have parental permission if under the age of 18.
While motorcycle insurance laws are not explicit in Wyoming, the state does not exclude motorcyclists from its requirement that all drivers of motor vehicles must have, at a minimum, liability insurance. The minimum amount of coverage motorcycle drivers must have is $25,000 for the bodily injury or death of another person in the event of an accident. Motorcyclists must also be covered to a minimum of $50,000 for the bodily injury or death of two or more people in an accident. For property damages, drivers must be insured to a minimum of $20,000 in the event that someone else’s property is damaged or destroyed. Proof of motorcycle insurance coverage should be carried with you on the vehicle anytime you are operating it to provide proof of financial responsibility under the law. Driving a motorcycle without insurance may lead to fees, the revoking of your license, and even jail time. There are three ways to obtain coverage in Wyoming:
- Buy insurance – When you buy insurance through motorcycle insurance companies, you determine the best cost for the insurance coverage you want with the help of agents and brokers. This is a very common way of meeting financial responsibility requirements.
- File a surety bond – In paying a large sum of money up front, your vehicle will be insured.
- File a certificate of deposit of money or securities – The cash or securities is deposited with the state treasurer.
In Wyoming, insurance companies look at age, gender, marital status, your location, and the type of vehicle when determining what to charge for your motorcycle insurance policy. Men and unmarried couples are considered a greater risk than women and married couples. In general, the more driving you do each week or each year on average, the higher your premium will be. Your motorcycle insurance cost may also be higher if you have an expensive or high-performance motorcycle, so keep this in mind if you will be buying a show bike, customized chopper, or highly valued vintage model. If you live in a densely populated or high-crime area, your insurance may be higher than if you were in a smaller, safer town. Additional coverage will also cost more money. For instance, motorcycle insurance full coverage is pricier than basic liability insurance because it covers the risk of physical damage to your bike. Insurance companies also look at a person’s driving history. A long history of accidents and traffic tickets may result in a higher motorcycle insurance cost. Too many accidents may interfere with a driver’s ability to get insurance, and they may need to look into other options, like an assigned risk plan, if insurance companies deem them too risky to insure.
One of the surest ways to keep motorcycle insurance premiums low is by maintaining a good driving record. This involves following all state laws regarding motorcycles and motor vehicles, so you can avoid speeding tickets, higher motorcycle insurance premiums, and the loss of your license. Below are the motorcycle laws for Wyoming.
- Safety helmets are required.
- You can only carry a passenger if the motorcycle was designed to carry two or if another seat is permanently attached, according to Wyoming Code 31-5-115(a).
- You can only ride a motorcycle while sitting astride, facing forward, with a foot on each side, according to Wyoming Code 31-5-115(b).
- You cannot operate a motorcycle while carrying anything that obstructs your view or prevents you from keeping both hands on the handlebars, according to Wyoming Code 31-5-11(c).
- Motorcyclists are permitted to drive two abreast in a single lane of traffic, according to Wyoming Code 31-5-115(e).
- A motorcyclist cannot overtake and pass another vehicle while in the same lane, according to Wyoming Code 31-5-115(f).
- You cannot drive a motorcycle between lanes of traffic or between adjacent rows or lines of vehicles, according to Wyoming Code 31-5-115(g).
- Motorcyclists cannot drive three or more to a lane when driving in groups, according to Wyoming Code 31-5-115(j).
- A motorcyclist cannot attach himself or herself to another moving vehicle or motorcycle, according to Wyoming Code 31-5-115(k).
- The handlebars on a motorcycle cannot be positioned above shoulder height, according to Wyoming Code 31-5-115(n).